This is What Happens When You Die

My Aunt Anita died last year. A friend died late last year too. It was kind of nice to know their accounts were still around on Facebook and other sites where they had left some presence. Today I checked on this one and found it gone. Who deactivates the account in this case? You must be really dead if Facebook is willing to actually delete your account (versus just pretending to humour you about the whole account deletion thing).

My friend’s account was still up on Facebook the last time I checked.

5 thoughts on “This is What Happens When You Die”

  1. It makes me sad to see the account disappear. Everything they wrote. All of their photos 🙁

    I’ve been wondering how to leave an online presence if something happens to me.

  2. I thought something like Facebook would be around pretty much forever. They won’t delete the account when you ask them to. I was surprised to find my Aunt’s account gone – all but for her actual name.

    There are sites which say they will put up eternal memorials. But, I don’t really have faith in any of them. I’ve seen too many sites disappear.

  3. My condolences on the passing of your aunt.

    I have been told by Facebook support staff that if an account isn’t accessed for 12 months, Facebook will delete it unless notified that the member has passed away and a request is made to memorialize the account.

    I found this information in Facebook’s Help Centre, regarding deceased members –
    =======================================================
    Memorializing the account:
    It is our policy to memorialize all deceased users’ accounts on the site. When an account is memorialized, only confirmed friends can see the profile (timeline) or locate it in Search. The profile (timeline) will also no longer appear in the Suggestions section of the Home page. Friends and family can leave posts in remembrance.

    In order to protect the privacy of the deceased user, we cannot provide login information for the account to anyone. However, once an account has been memorialized, it is completely secure and cannot be accessed or altered by anyone.

    If you need to report a profile (timeline) to be memorialized, please click here.

    Removing the account:
    Verified immediate family members may request the removal of a loved one’s account from the site.
    ===========================================================

  4. Sorry… forgot something…

    If the account has only been deactivated and not deleted, which that Facebook message seems to indicate, it can be reactivated if you have the username and password. I have deactivated my account on a couple of occasions because I was going to be away for a while and did not want things to pile up.

  5. I’ve lost faith in Facebook long ago. I deleted my account, fully and finally with no intention to ever come back. I contacted Facebook and asked to have it all removed. Two years later someone convinced me to give Facebook another try. My account was all there, as if I had never left. Every last game I had ever looked at, every post I had ever made… all of it. So, no matter what they tell you – they don’t delete accounts. Unless you’re dead, apparently. My Aunt hasn’t been deceased for 12 months yet. So, it’s odd they claim that about memorializing accounts after 12 months. Facebook is schemy.

Leave a Reply